Travel

going home: spring break 2017

Sorry for taking so long to post this, the week I got back to school from spring break my cousin came to visit me here in New York (I’ll post about that soon), so I haven’t gotten the chance to sit down and breathe until now!

For my first spring break as a student at a college far from home (last year I was a 30 minute drive away), instead of flitting off to a Caribbean island with friends I decided to go home to see my family and, most importantly, my cat!  My Dad couldn’t take the week my younger brothers have off from work, so instead he took the week I came home off and we went on adventures together.  (As a side note, the weeks before and after I was home it was miserable and raining, but for the week I was home it was sunny and beautiful in the 70’s and 80’s.  To top it off, there was also a blizzard back in New York, winter storm Stella).

I really wanted to be a tourist in San Francisco.  Since I grew up in the city I never really hit all of the tourist spots unless someone was visiting, so me and my Dad decided to go on a hike at the Land’s End trail.  The day was perfect, there wasn’t a cloud in the sky (so rare in San Francisco), and we have clean pristine views of the Golden Gate.

We both wore our matching cat hats (mine is a cat hat that he thought was a Detroit Lions hat, so I got him one for his birthday last year), and we had such a blast goofing around and playing tourist.  It was also pretty funny to hike around in my boot, especially when we had to go down all of the stairs and I had to take them one at a time.  I loved spending quality time with my Dad, especially because he is usually at work making sure me and my brothers can have the best life that we can!

I also wanted to see the people I missed from back home, and although no one from my high school was home at the same time as I was, I was able to see my old coworkers and my family friends who are still in high school.  Me and my coworkers from when I worked at Baskin Robbins went to Palo Alto and got lunch together at a restaurant called Sprout Cafe.  I absolutely love their chipotle chicken sandwich, and if you ever get the chance to go I highly recommend it.  The tomato soup and the arnold palmer that I ordered were delicious as well.  I’m drooling right now just thinking about how amazing the meal was!

Processed with VSCO with a2 preset
I couldn’t wait to eat the soup before I took the picture 😉

I also saw my close family friends, and we went to tea on St. Patrick’s Day to celebrate one of my closest friend’s 18th birthday.  We went to this adorable place called Lovejoy’s in Redwood City, and although we were definitely the only people there under the age of 70 we had a blast.

I was talking to my roommate (who is from New Jersey) about California and what is unique to it, and I told her that technically it is possible to ski and surf in the same day.  I was talking about it with my Dad, and we decided to do it!  So on Wednesday night, we drove up to Tahoe, woke up early and skied for a couple of hours on Thursday morning, and then drove back home and went to the beach in Pacifica to go surfing.  I would be lying if I said this wasn’t one of my greatest accomplishments so far in life.  Even though I don’t like skiing, and I’m not that good at surfing, I had a blast!

I had actually never been surfing in California before.  I learned how to surf in Hawaii, and go every time I visit, but the frigid Northern California waters that require a wet suit always terrified me.  As it turns out, I had nothing to be afraid of!  It probably helped that it was a beautiful day, but the wet suit really did its job (imagine that).  It was cold at first, but after about 20 seconds the wet suit kicked in, and it felt just like the water in Hawaii.

But of course, what was the most important and exciting part of coming home? Seeing Bailey!  I dropped everything and started crying as soon as I saw her when I walked into the house, and squeezed her until she hated me for it.  I forgot how much I missed having her sleep on my feet every night, and how soft she was, and it was exponentially harder to leave her the second time.

Sorry this took so long for me to post, but college life gets crazy sometimes!  I will have another post up soon about the NYC tourism I did with my cousin when she visited.

Until next time!

hugs and kisses,

Ciara

Save

Leave a Reply

